The PRM Program is a series of certification exams, designed to measure the knowledge of professional risk managers and ensure they meet a specific performance standard in their profession. Endorsed by leading university programs and industry firms, it is the global standard for risk management professionals.

Built by a broad coalition of industry leaders to reflect the mission objectives of the association and to establish the leading form of education, validation and certification in the Risk Management profession, the PRM counts candidates from over 100 countries, more than any other risk certification program, anywhere.

  • • Candidates must hold a membership in PRMIA.
  • • Candidates who took their first exam on or after January 1, 2014 must meet minimum experience requirements, which include:
  • • 4 Years if no bachelor degree
  • • 2 Years if bachelor degree
  • • No experience requirements if graduate school (i.e. MBA, MSF, MQF, etc.) or holder of other accepted professional designations (CFA, CAIA, CQF, etc.)
To receive the PRM designation, candidates must:
  • • pass all four 2015 PRM exams in a two-year period
  • • score 60% or higher on each individual exam
Current candidates who have taken their first PRM exam before May 2015 will have the opportunity to complete the PRM Program based on the 2011 Edition of the PRM designation until December 19, 2015. When registering for the PRM exam ensure that you register for the 2011 Edition. All current candidates should plan their exams accordingly, as there will be no extensions to this date. Candidates may take the exams in any order. The two-year period commences from the date of the first successful PRM examination. Candidates may take exams over more than a two-year period, but any exams passed more than two years in the past will need to be retaken. Candidates may retake any failed exam, but must wait 60 days from the date of the failed exam. Unbundled PRM vouchers for single exams may be requested via the exam voucher purchase page. The PRM exam consists of four topics 1. Finance Theory, Financial Instruments and Markets (30%) 2. Mathematical Foundations of Risk Measurement (20%) 3. Risk Management Practices (30%) 4. Case Studies, PRMIA Standards of Best Practice, Conduct and Ethics, Bylaws (20%)

Make sure you are prepared for your Professional Risk Management Exam (PRM). McRee Learning Center can help.
ready to start your exam prep
ready to start your exam prep