The IT Infrastructure Library Certification (ITIL) is the only consistent and comprehensive documentation of best practices for IT Service Management used by organizations around the world.

There are five levels of ITIL certifications.

  • Foundation Level – this is the entry level certification which offers you a general awareness of key elements, concepts and terminology. This also includes links between lifecycle stages, the processes used and their contribution to service management practices.
    • 40 multiple-choice questions
    • 1 hour duration
    • 26 marks required to pass or 65%
    • Closed book.
  • Practitioner Level – the next stage in the ITIL scheme. Developed to provide a step between Foundation and Intermediate Level and improves the ability of individuals to adopt and adapt ITIL in their organization.
    • 40 multiple-choice questions
    • 1 hour 45 minutes duration
    • 28 marks required to pass or 70%
  • Intermediate Level Certification – consists of a modular structure with each module having a different focus on IT Service Management. These are more detailed than the Foundation and Practitioner Levels.
    • Accredited Training required
    • Divided into 2 categories – Service Lifecycle & Service Capability
  • Expert Level – aimed at those interested in demonstrating knowledge of the ITIL Scheme in its entirety. Awarded to candidates who have achieved a range of ITIL certifications with a well rounded, superior knowledge and skills base.
    • 10 multiple-choice questions per paper
    • 120 minutes duration
    • 35 marks required to pass (out of 50) or 70%
    • closed book
  • Master Level – validates your ability to apply the principles, methods and techniques from ITIL in the workplace.
    • Every ITIL Master candidate will select a different, personal range of experiences, so there is no fixed syllabus for this qualification. There is also no prescribed training course since the theory being tested will vary depending on the nature of the situation each candidate will choose.

Make sure you are prepared for your IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL) Exam. McRee Learning Center can help.
ready to start your exam prep
ready to start your exam prep